Tags

, , , , , , , ,

IMG_3010Today was a really rough day and I could use some comfort food.  I don’t know why but I was thinking about a baked French toast recipe I made once when I was young.  I can’t believe that I even remember it!  Well, I don’t remember it exactly, but I decided to try to recreate it tonight.  I don’t think I’ve ever made baked French toast for my family.  This should be fun!

Ingredients:

10 Slices of Texas toast

6 large eggs

2 cups of milk

2 tsp. vanilla flavoring

1 tsp. cinnamon

1/8 to 1/4 tsp. nutmeg

1/2 tsp. salt

Optional Topping:

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup flour

1/8 tsp. nutmeg

1/2 tsp. cinnamon

1/4 tsp. salt

1 stick of cold butter cut into cubes

Directions:

Grease baking dish with butter.  In a large bowl mix eggs, milk, cinnamon, nutmeg, salt and vanilla with a mixer or whisk.  Mix till the eggs are fluffy and everything is mixed together. IMG_2996 Lay bread down in the dish in two rows.  As you lay each row down, spoon some of the egg mixture over the bottom of each slice then lay down the next row.  After all slices are in, spoon the mixture over all the bread making sure to coat every nook and cranny.  Let sit in the fridge for at least an hour, over night is even better.  IMG_3001

When you’re ready to bake, preheat your oven to 350 degrees.  Now is when you need to make your optional topping.  Like I said this is optional, it’s just as yummy without it, but if you are wanting some extra yumminess, then go ahead!  Mix everything together except the butter.  Then  add your butter and take out your pastry cutter.  Cut butter into mixture until its coarse.  Sprinkle on top of French toast.  I over mixed my topping, but it will still come out yummy!IMG_3007Bake for about 40 minutes for a bread pudding type of French toast or an hour for a crispier version. I baked mine for one hour.  I love the crispy edges and the soft warm middle.

Your house will smell amazing while this cooks.  I suggest serving this with something savory like country ham, sausage or bacon.  I think next time I make it, I’m going to add apples!

IMG_3011

It turned out amazing!  It’s so sweet but not icky sweet.  Emily and Spencer approved and even came back for seconds.  My hubby said, “It was some amazing food!”